Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
Q and A on cross site request forgeries and breaking into sessions. It's one of the attacks that XSS enables and the attack of the future. For Session, fixations, hijacking, lockout, replay, session riding etc.... 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Detecting CSRF with static analysis
Posted by: database
Date: September 06, 2010 08:41AM

Hi guys,

Im doing my master thesis at the moment in the field of static analysis. Currently Im trying to come up with ways to detect CSRF or potential CSRF. However, it seems to me that for CSRF it is inheretly impossible to detect it statically.

- Taint propagation does not work since there is nothing to taint
- Model checking is not possible
- pattern matching is implausible since there are infinite many ways to implement countermeasures against csrf

Im out of options, am i missing something or should I give up?

Any help is greatly appericiated.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/06/2010 09:25AM by database.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Detecting CSRF with static analysis
Posted by: Reiners
Date: September 06, 2010 10:51AM

Currently I am developing a static analysis tool for php (RIPS) and thought about that problem too but in my opinion you cant detect CSRF by static analysis reliably. The tool would need to know the logic of the webapp in order to detect which parameters should be protected by tokens or which not.
Imagine this link to a news article: www.news.com/news.php?id=456. It is basically CSRF but it is also how the webapp was designed to behave so there is no CSRF protection needed because external linking is appreciated. On the other hand the link www.bank.com/transfer.php?money=456 will probably look similar code wise but does a critical operation and should be CSRF protected. So the tool needs to know what the code is trying to do and if that is critical regarding CSRF attacks.