Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
Q and A on cross site request forgeries and breaking into sessions. It's one of the attacks that XSS enables and the attack of the future. For Session, fixations, hijacking, lockout, replay, session riding etc.... 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Nonce evasion
Posted by: dragunov
Date: May 27, 2009 06:50AM

Hey Guys

I am new to sla.ckers.org. I have been trying to find the answer to a question.
In the clickjacking paper by rsnake on http://www.sectheory.com/clickjacking.htm, he has said that "Nonce evasion requires that the browser somehow gains access to data in another domain.". I dont understand this, because why would I want to gain access to data in another domain if the nonce is taken from the same domain on which I am performing CSRF. Also, can't this nonce evasion be done if there is an xss issue in the transaction against which I am performing the CSRF.

Thanks
dragunov

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Nonce evasion
Posted by: Gareth Heyes
Date: May 27, 2009 08:28AM

@dragunov

If there's a XSS issue then CSRF isn't needed because you can access the domain and content. However if there aren't any XSS holes then information disclosure on parts of the site can reveal tokens (Nonces).

If you combine this with minor browser issues you can get tokens from sites without breaking SOP. A good case study for this is the MyOpenID exploit I did a few years ago.

http://www.thespanner.co.uk/2007/06/29/openid-security-issues/

Here I use a vulnerability in Safari to steal the contents of a url cross domain, MyOpenID stored the token in the url which made this possible.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it.";
labs : [www.businessinfo.co.uk]
blog : [www.thespanner.co.uk]
Hackvertor : [hackvertor.co.uk]