Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
This is a place for us to start seriously talking about vendors. Who's great, who's not, what's it cost, how does it relate to their competitors and would we buy it? A place to talk about snakeoil, and brilliant products alike. Marketing fluff is forbidden. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
opensource webmail/collaboration platform review
Posted by: Malkav
Date: March 31, 2008 05:28AM

i recently installed a fully fledged postfix/dovecot on a new server, but he wanted a webmail/calendar/whatever too, and i don't know those products very well.

so i tried horde, and roundcube. both do their job (altough roundcube is largely heavier (mainly due to javascript))

did you have to pentest webmails/CP recently ? would you recommend one in particular ? the only requirement is that it can run in lighttpd-fcgi and over PostgreSQL.

i am no php coder, so if i had to code one, it would be perl or RoR. and i have not much time.

as i dedicated most my time spent on this one to harden the underlying freebsd 7, i think i'd be pretty pissed of if some random kiddy started to attack the database via SQLi (or worse, sent mail with JS. XSS via mail. NOOoOOoooOoOoO)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Those that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
--Benjamin Franklin

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: opensource webmail/collaboration platform review
Posted by: id
Date: March 31, 2008 09:58AM

We use postfix on our edge mail servers, and exchange on the inside (say all you want, but for businesses, there is no open source equivalent). The closest thing, and it may be up to speed now, is Zimbra.

We also tried roundcube, but while it looks nice, it has tons of security holes, and we gave up on it.