Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
How do we crash systems, browsers, or otherwise bring things to a halt, and how do we protect those things? 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Newbie alert - What can a hacker find from an uploaded file?
Posted by: JonW215
Date: July 04, 2009 02:03PM

Hi guys!

I'm a total newbie to the whole web hacking situation!
I'm writing an IIS based webapp, which will enable primary schools in the UK to upload and analyse pupil (student) performance throughout the year.
Initially I would like to try to set this up with using SSL, really just to enable a couple of schools to trial it while I tweak the app etc.

Anyhow, my question is, if a hacker was to intercept one of the plain text files being uploaded, what other info could they potentially find during the 'interception'.

The actual text file itself would only hold things such as:
an ID for the student which is internal to the school
the pupil's name
the subject (Maths etc)
The grade/level acheived

Just to provide a little more info, the user will have already logged in prior to uploading the file. Their username and a 20-digit 'security code' assigned during login are stored in a cookie, as well as that same info stored in a server side token. Use of the different pages of the application are only allowed if the cookie info matches the server token and this information isn't sent during the upload process (or at least, not intentionally).

I guess what I'm asking is, if a hacker intercepted this text file, would they automatically be privvy to other information like the cookie/token?

I'm making the assumption at this point that the hacker hasn't directly targetted the web server, but has somehow simply intercepted the text file being uploaded.