Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
Whether this is about ha.ckers.org, sla.ckers.org or some other project you are interested in or want to talk about, throw it in here to get feedback. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
cms
Posted by: thomaspollet
Date: November 16, 2006 03:17AM

Hello,

What content management systems do you like? Some time ago I started coding a pet cms but as the cms-o-sphere is crowded enough I quit it. Yet I'm still frustrated with the design and coding of most cms's. Is there a cms out there which does not suck? Is it worth the time coding yet another cms?

Greets,
Thomas

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: cms
Posted by: jungsonn
Date: November 16, 2006 03:57AM

I don't know any CMS that doesn't suck, I tried many OpenSource most of the time their code is so fubar. Since then I always roll my own.

I do use a third party wysiwyg class in it for the editing in the cms like TinyMCE which is free.

Posted by: rsnake
Date: November 16, 2006 11:37AM

Obviously we use Wordpress for the blog. We use Microsoft's unsupported CMS system in some strange ways at the company work for. Neither of which I think are particularly bug free and scalable. So I can't comment. Drupal gets high marks from lots of the SEO people, minus all the security issues.

- RSnake
Gotta love it. http://ha.ckers.org

Date: November 17, 2006 03:48AM

Drupal is pretty nice but as all other cms's it's developed around a need for features and user functionality. From a software engineering point of view all cms's are just webpages on steroids. The idea I had when I was thinking about cms's was based on strict separation of different layers: there's
-data
-application logic
-page structure
-style
now these parts can be implemented using
-db : mysql
-programming language: php
-structure: xml + xslt
-style: css