Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
Whether this is about ha.ckers.org, sla.ckers.org or some other project you are interested in or want to talk about, throw it in here to get feedback. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Hi - my pet project - server side CSP output filter
Posted by: FunkyRes
Date: March 13, 2009 02:42PM

My first post so I'll intro myself a little bit.
I'm not a web designer/coder. I've dabbled in php for years but this is my first real project other than simple display.

The project is inspired by
http://people.mozilla.org/~bsterne/content-security-policy/

My goal is to implement it server side through a class that acts as a post filter.
Obviously it is not going to be as good as a real browser based CSP solution because a policy allowed script could modify the DOM to add stuff the policy would reject, and there's no way to catch that server side.

But I hope my output filter will eventually be good enough to catch and remove anything in the sent document that would trigger CSP on a CSP enabled client.

Here's the current version of the class file:

http://homepage.mac.com/mpeters/misc/cspfilter_class.php.txt

It does require that the document be fully created and in a DOMDocument object (use DOMDocument's loadHTML() for well formed html, use loadXHM() for well formed xhtml)

basic usage - where $foo is your DOMDocument object

this example assumes you want to allow images, script, and object tags

$bar = new cspfilter;
$bar->httphost = "www.example.net";
$bar->csp['allow']      = "none"; // that's default but not bad idea to explicitly state
$bar->csp['img-src']    = "images.example.net *.photobucket.com";
$bar->csp['script-src'] = "scripts.example.net";
$bar->csp['object-src'] = "self";
$bar->inputDom($foo);
$bar->processData();
// defaults to false which creates meta tag instead of header
$bar->cspHeader = true;