Cenzic 232 Patent
Paid Advertising
sla.ckers.org is
ha.ckers sla.cking
Sla.ckers.org
The ha.ckers.org and sla.ckers.org web application security lab house rules and a place for you to introduce yourself if you like. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Pages: PreviousFirst...345678910111213Next
Current Page: 12 of 13
Re: Introductions
Posted by: clayfox
Date: January 20, 2009 04:09PM

Hello.

I have always enjoyed breaking solutions. I studied math, and I was that jerk who pointed out the counterexample or fringe case to the proposed solution.

I was introduced to web app security on 04/09/2008 and I haven't been able to stop researching and testing my own and my colleagues sites. I think I love it. Can you love a concept? I guess if you can have a war on Terror, then I can love web app security.

-clayfox

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: thornmaker
Date: January 20, 2009 05:50PM

*You* can love all concepts, but there will always exist concepts which are not loved. To prove this, consider the following example:

Let X be a set of all people who are unloved. X is non empty since clearly id AND thrill both belong to X. Now I assert that each element of X is also conceivable. Clearly id and thrill were both conceived (just ask their respective mothers) as were every other person in set X since they are by definition persons. If you're of a religious persuasion, you could argue that the original persons, say adam and eve, were not conceived, but they clearly are not in X since they are loved by many. So we've established that elements of X are conceivable and not loved. By definition, conceivable objects can be called concepts. Thus each element of X can be considered a concept. Thus each element of X is a concept, and by construction, also unloved. QED.

On a related note... say C is the set consisting of all counter-examples. Are all elements of C conceivable?

Posted by: id
Date: January 20, 2009 05:57PM

someone needs a hug.